Saturday, May 23, 2015

The Seasons of the Church Year.

The Church Year is also known as the Liturgical Year.

There are six distinct periods of Christian observances, each focuses upon a different aspect of the Christian experience and tradition. These periods or seasons do not necessarily occur on the same dates from year to year, but are related to the dates of the two principal Christian celebrations of Christmas and Easter.

(1) Advent begins four Sundays before Christmas.

(2) The Christmas Season includes the twelve days from sunset Christmas Eve (December 24) through Epiphany (January 6).

(3) The Season After Epiphany begins January 7 and lasts until Ash Wednesday.

(4) Lent begins on Ash Wednesday and lasts until Easter. The exact dates of Lent depend on the date for Easter Sunday.

(5) Easter is the first Sunday after the first full moon after March 21. Because the date for Easter moves between March 22 and April 25, the length of the Season after Epiphany and the Season after Pentecost varies. The Easter Season is fifty days long and goes through the Day of Pentecost.

(6) The Season After Pentecost begins immediately after Pentecost Sunday and continues until the beginning of Advent. This season is known as Ordinary Time.

The Liturgical Year - The United Methodist Church

Image found on Google, advanced search, free to use and share.

Image's location is Waiting For The Word.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Only TWO weeks left with Pastor Jim and Family

Sunday, May 24th, 9:30 am - Memorial Service at the IOOF Cemetery.  If it's too wet, we will meet at church as usual.

Sunday, May 31st, 10:30 am - Worship service with Snyder at Indiahoma City Park Pavilion. Fellowship meal following worship.  If it's too wet, we will meet at Snyder UMC.

Sunday, June 7th, 9:30 am - First worship service with Pastor Les.

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Video for Mother's Day

View this video on the UMC website or on Youtube.

You might need a box of tissues.

Happy Mother's Day!

Leave a comment about  your mom.